Clothes · Projects

Medieval Clothes of 2023

This year was a year of creativity, and a time where I really got back to work on my medieval/renaissance wardrobe. Here are a few things that I made in 2023 that probably won’t get their own blog posts, but are deserving of attention non-the-less.

Green Kirtle

This was my first project of the year, and it was made to go to a big event called Birka in late January. I am SO proud of how this dress looks. Its made with a polyester backed silk that gives it a lovely body and drape and made it very easy to sew and wear.

Red Kirtle

This dress gave me so many problems throughout the year. The linen I chose was somehow very stretchy and so the first several times I wore it it drifted out of shape and had to be re-fitted. I also made the mistake of bag lining the bodice which really did nothing good for it. But by the end of the year, I re-fit it several times and re-did the sleeves so it became something I really loved.

Pictured while wearing my even more feathered padded roll.

The Purple/Yellow Trossfrau

I made this dress, chemise and hat to go to Great North Eastern War, and boy was it a challenge. Similarly to the Red Kirtle, I dealt with linen stretch issues that were just no fun. The hat is also a work in progress that deserves its own blog post, but I was able to get it appropriately stiff and in a state that I am okay enough with by the end of the year. (a theme).

The black Houpeland

As discussed in this blog, I purchased the black houpeland at a garb downsizing sale and have been working on re-fashioning it ever since. I added red second sleeves, gold fringe and created a funny hat to match the illumination. I feel like this will likely be my forever project dress, as I have more changes I would like to make including a tablet woven hem that it will likely never be complete. However, that’s a project for next summer, not now.

The Blue Wool Overdress

This dress is my answer to being unhappy with the fit of my first blue overdress. It turns out one changes shape quite a bit over five years, and I needed something a little warmer and less heavy than my magnificent 5 lb dress. It came together quickly thanks to wooly-wool-ness and really looks dreamy. I still need to finish the hem and eyelets, but its on its way to being complete and one of the stars of my collection.

Whats Next?

Of course, there will be more in 2024. I spent the last half of 2023 getting warm weather clothes ready for a few cold weather events including 100 Minutes War and Decameron. But the next six months will be preparing for a hot weather war of Pennsic. And outside of Pennsic prep, I need to step up my Renaissance wear game and I have some goals:

This dress from Matriculation Register of the Rectorate of the University of Basel, Volume 1 (1460-1567) has always intrigued me and when the perfect plum wool went on sale in the fall I scooped it up. I need to determine what kind of fabric to use for the under dress, but once I figure that out, I’ll be on my way to a lovely outfit.

I purchased a boat load of green velvet (polyester of course it was a great price) and I knew at once upon seeing it that I needed to recreate this beautiful dress depicted in this Cranach Portrait of Sibylle of Cleve. Once I find the right gold brocade I’ll be on my way. Hopefully this will be my Yule dress next year. (And of course I’ll need to find some appropriate head gear).

I also have a good deal of bronze polyester backed silk that I intend to make a buttoned kirtle overdress similar to the style seen in the above from BnF Français 12595, f. 9v ca. 1400-1402.

I have some red linen that has been earmarked for one of these Maneese Codex Overdresses for years! And I think it would be a good warm weather accoutrement.

Hopefully typing up this list will hold me accountable somehow. In addition to these there will of course be embroideries, accessories and hats. And I am sure I will be roped into making things for my friends who I dearly love to make things for.

Support:

If you would like to support my art, you can donate using Ko-Fi by clicking this button:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a comment