12 Little Needle Cases

The Last Needle Case: Openwork

This post is part of an 11 part series wherein I made 11 needle cases, each with a different style and technique of historic needle work. You can read more about the project here. And learn how I designed this needle cases here.

And wow, It took a year to make this. The original “month” for my Openwork needle case was October 0f 2021, but due to lots of circumstances, I didn’t even design the project until October 2022. And… here we are, knee deep in October 2023.

The challenge with this piece was that it is tiny and difficult to see. The linen threads are not exactly uniform and therefore were difficult to count and easy to pierce. The pattern itself was not exactly easy either.

What did I learn?

As much as I am obsessed with white work, I don’t think drawn/pulled thread is my think for the long term unless I get my hands on some different materials. I am sure those exist, and I am sure I will endeavor to make some silly pulled thread hand towels and cloths in the future because I am extra… but I should probably just stick to more applied whitework techniques such as button hole stitch.

What’s Next?

This was the last of my needle cases, and I very much want to start another project where I investigate different techniques of embroidery like I did in this project. Exploring all these different types was incredibly rewarding and gave me so many new skills and also taught me what I did and didn’t like.

Support:

If you would like to support my art, you can donate using Ko-Fi by clicking this button:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a comment